Bobby Bowden, Dylan Gibbons, and Ron Simmons have been honored by the Hula Bowl

Three Florida State representatives were honored by the Hula Bowl Thursday night, as legendary coach Bobby Bowden and nose guard Ron Simmons were inducted into the Hula Bowl Hall of Fame and Dillan Gibbons was honored with the organization’s Joe Roth Award.

Read more: Former FSU Star Treshaun Ward announces her transfer to the Big 12 program

The Hula Bowl Hall of Fame was established in 2019 to honor the greatest college players and coaches to have participated in the Hula Bowl All-Star Game. The Joe Roth Award was established in 2020 to honor Roth’s legacy and passion for faith, humility, and courage. Ruth was diagnosed with skin cancer prior to his junior year and played the entire 1976 season, including the Hula Bowl, while privately battling the disease. He passed away in February of 1977 just weeks after playing in the Hula Bowl. His number 12 is the only number retired from the Cal football program.

Leave a Comment