Google undoes old GSuite account deactivation, won’t take users’ emails

A damaged and destroyed copy of the Google logo.
Zoom / Submit an artist to your current Google reputation.

Google has finally released a solution for people with “old” GSuite Google accounts. After initially threatening to shut down free GSuite accounts if users didn’t start paying for the service, Google backed down completely. Once users have jumped through some registration loops, Google will allow their 16-year-old accounts to continue working. You will even keep your email address.

The epic one yet, if you haven’t followed it, is that Google has a user account service with a private domain, currently called “Google Workspace” and formerly called “G Suite” and “Google Apps”. The service is mostly a regular Google account that allows you to use an email ending with your custom domain name instead of “@gmail.com”. Today this service targets businesses and costs money every month, but this was not always the case. From 2006 to 2012, domain-specific Google accounts they were free And they set up in families As a cliched way to get your Google identity online.

In January some Google bean counter apparently noticed that this small group of old users was technically getting a paid service for free and decided this was unacceptable. Google put out an ad in January declaring these guys “old GSuite users” and basically told them, “Pay or lose your account. These users signed up for a free Google service and stored data on it for up to 16 years, and there were no indications that they would be charged. Google has held this decade of user data hostage, asking users to start paying business rates for Workspace or face account closure.

A week later, after the inevitable public outcry, Google somewhat acquiesced It will, he said, vaguely eventually provide “an option for you to move paid content other than Google Workspace and most of your data to a no-cost option.” Telling you that you’ll be able to keep “most of your data” you’ve accumulated for 16 years is a somewhat troubling statement. One of Google’s January details was that “this new option won’t include premium features like personalized email,” so you’ll have to stop hosting your email with Google, and presumably have to go through some unruly Google account conversion process. These users were then allowed to flicker eagerly in the wind, without further details, for six months.

How to save your free GSuite account

In May, Google finally told these users what would happen to their accounts. The New support page SaysFor individuals and families With your account for non-commercial purposes, you can continue to use the old free version of G Suite and opt out of going to Google Workspace. The link for that is here or in the GSuite admin panel. You will need to confirm that your GSuite account is for personal use and not for commercial use, because companies are still expected to pay for Workspace. If you really bent Google’s will and started paying for Workspace because of the January announcement, Google says you should Contact support.

this bottom
Zoom / The bottom “Personal Use” button is what you want.

Lee Hutchinson

The biggest news from this latest announcement is that Google has decided not to take people’s email away. a second support page He says, “You can continue to use your custom domain with Gmail, retain access to free Google services like Google Drive and Google Meet, and keep your purchases and data.” It now appears that there will be no changes to your account, provided you click on the “Self-Transfer” screen before the deadline.

The deadline to opt out of account closure, which has now changed several times, is June 27, 2022. If you do not complete this opt-out by June 27, you will be automatically billed to Workspace. If you do not have a registered card and do not opt ​​out, your account will be suspended and closed on August 1st.

One of the more dangerous parts of this story is automatic registration and billing, without the explicit consent of the user. If you don’t keep a close eye on the tech news scene, there’s a good chance you won’t know this is coming and either suddenly get charged without your consent or find that your Google account has suddenly stopped working.

For a company whose main business pillar is persuading users to store massive amounts of data, playing games like this is an odd decision. At least he came to a reasonable conclusion.

Leave a Comment